Lighting Project

Hello everyone!

I am a final year University student who is undertaking a project on lighting. At the moment I am trying to investigate the techniques used and the differences between stage lighting and studio (TV and video production) lighting. I am particularly interested in the way the stage is lit for the audience in the theatre, and the studio has to be lit for the camera first, then the audience at home.

I am also interested in live stage lighting but know nothing about it yet.

Can anybody recommend any previous work/books/videos on these subjects, or does anybody have any information they would like to share through this board, e-mails or any other means.

I have chosen this as my project as this is hopefully my future career area, so any help would be greatly appreciated!!

Thankyou

Andrew

Good books for theatre lighting :

"The Stage Lighting Handbook" - Francis Reid

"Stage Lighting Design" - Richard Pilbrow

Good books for TV/video lighting :

"Lighting for TV and Film" and "Lighting for Video" - Gerald Millerson

...and the studio has to be lit for the camera first, then the audience at home...

Just to pick up one point, the camera and the audience at home are one and the same. They share the same view, the viewer cannot see anything that the camera does not pick up.

but surely you have to consider the limitations of the camera before trying to create a mood/atmosphere for the audience? I understand what you mean though, that the audience only sees what the camera sees.

p.s. thanks for all the replies so far! keep 'em coming!!

but surely you have to consider the limitations of the camera before trying to create a mood/atmosphere for the audience? I understand what you mean though, that the audience only sees what the camera sees.

absolutely, a camera will only ever 'see' a subset of what we can see.