New lighting rig - thoughts welcome

savman

Hi all,

newbie here looking for your comments and suggestions. We've decided to start upgrading out lighting rig (mainly used for 6pc live soul band) and I have proposed the following:

8 x PAR56 300w cans (2 x tripods)

4 x Martin SCX500 (rear truss)

4 x Martin Acrobat (rear truss)

4 x Martin Minimacs (on or in front of stage)

JEM Hazer Machine

I'm open to any alternatives, maybe LED PAR's, scanners with rotating gobos, better moving heads, anything really!

We have a cheep and cheerful Showtec 48ch DMX desk which we will replace eventually, it was just to get us started really. I've been playing with Light Jockey a bit and think I'd like to go that route eventually.

Any thoughts??

• Replies 39
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Seems a mighty fine list assuming you want to look like a disco?

What do you need - highlighting for individual band members, general wash in multiple colours?

Do you have an op, or is it a push button and let it get on with it rig?

Maybe a hazer will let you see the beams? With the disco style kit, the beams would look quite good. The only thing I'd watch is that lots of your kit are quite narrow beam angled lighting - so used close in, they don't actually do much?

Hi,

well cheesy disco isn't really the target, the desk will be operated by our young trainee LD! I'm of the opinion that sometimes less is more, I definately do not want everything on all of the time with random rainbow colours flying all over the place. I'd like to make full use of the Stage Washes and only use the Scanners for effect when required.

We just want a good classy lighting show really. I'm not 100% sold on the Acrobats for stage use and many reports I've read of the Minimac suggest it is no use on a band stage competing with PARs.

I'm open minded so will investigate all suggestions really :blink: