Interview hints

Sarah Q

I have a job interview next week, for a Production LX job. I know my CV is good, as I always get interviews, but never get the job. I do a lot of research about the theatre/company in question to show an interest in their work, go smartly dressed, try and appear friendly and approachable, and don't get too nervous.

I'm aiming for a slight career jump with this job, and although I have a lot of lx experience, it might need someone to have a little faith in my ability.

Can any employers out there give me some guidance about the types of answer they might be looking for to the usual questions "Why do you want this job?" etc. etc. for someone to stand out? I seem to give the same answers every time (ignoring the obvious one - I need the money!). The toughest one I've heard is "What do you class as your weaknesses?" as it's hard to know what to say without putting the potential employer off, but obviously not seeming big headed enough to say you haven't got any!!

I'm obviously doing something wrong with my answers, as they can see my work experience from my CV, and surely wouldn't interview someone they didn't think had enough experience to do the job?

Any ideas would be gratefully received - I would really like this job....

Well, every employer is different, so I can only speak personally.

The "Why do you want this job?" is ofte a cue for you to show that you actually know something about the company you're applying to in general and the job you're looking for specifically. The sort of thing that might work might be: "I want to advance my career by working on larger, more elaborate shows. I've see your productions of "Les Mis" and "Superstar" and was very impressed by the way they were handled, and would like to be part of the team doing that sort of work. I know you have some exciting projects coming up over the next year and I'd very much like to work with you on them".