Storage Units

Poll  

88 members have voted

1. 1. Do you own a laptop

• Yes
    • No
  2. 2. Do you have trouble transporting everything you need for shows/rehersals

• Yes
    • Sometimes
    • No
  3. 3. How Much would you pay for a storage unit that fulfilled you needs

• 0-10
    • 11-25
    • 26-35
    • 35-50
    • 51-75
    • 76-100
    • 100+

I am Doing my A-Level DT project this year, and am basing it around a Stage management storage unit, although as I have no real professional experience of what stage managers need on a daily basis I would appreciate it if you would share your thoughts on what would make an ideal storage unit -

what it would incorporate - tools, laptop, files etc. and what you have problems with, weight, size, transportation.

some of the ideas I have come up with would be to have space for;

Laptop

Power sockets & extension lead

Various tool

File

mobile phone

and possibly a place to put a leatherman/gerber so it's not on your belt whilst travelling (offensive weapon)

I was thinking of constructing it in a similar way to flight cases, with wheels (like wheelie suitcases) so it is easy to transport, yet durable.

I would really appreciate your input and feedback on this.

thanks,

W.

What you have chosen to do your project on is a great idea. Some things to take into consideration are size and weight.

Most SM's I know (myself included) travel to and from the theatre in a sedan or hatch back car (ie not a van, ute or other industrial vehicle). Now whilst I can fit a hell of a lot into my car, the space for removing objects is limited (ie the size of the boot/'trunk' opening, the size of the doorways (NOT the same as the width of the doors, as most doors do not open flush to the side of the car) etc)