AV to PC

peter

Hi

I wonder if anyone can help. I want to be able to take a SCART signal from a DVD player, and input it onto my laptop. My laptop has USB, PCMCIA and Firewire (1394) inputs. Can anyone suggest a product which will enable me to view the signal? As a student, I don't want to go down the TV card route, as I don't want to have to buy a Tv licence if I'm not going to be watching TV.

Peter

Peter.

Not easy I'm afraid.

Probably you could go out and buy a cheap camcorder and use that as a cheep DV Bridge but that could cost you much more than a TV licence.

What do you want to do with the DVD's ? Edit them or view them?

You can buy a firewire DVD drive from Dabs or anyone for between £100-200 would that do??

James

I'm being greedy - hoping to use the 5.1 surround system by playing DVDs on the dvd player, but as I have no TV licence I have no monitor for viewing the video part of the DVD... hence the PC idea (I have a DVD drive in my laptop, but obviously thats not 5.1)

OK do you have a spare desktop monitor?

I've got a device that works as a scan converter - converting composite to SVGA reasonably well that cost me £30-£40?

It's also got a switch in it so I use it in theatre on my SFX PC monitor to switch between 4 backstage cameras as well.

If not then a 17" monitor and this box will still cost less than 1 years TV licence!!

I don't want to have to buy a Tv licence if I'm not going to be watching TV.

You don't have to buy a TV license if you are not going to watch TV. It is perfectly legitimate to have a TV card or even a Television in room without using them to watch TV.

I have a Television which I use as a monitor for editing video and watching DVD's but I don't watch TV and so I don't need a license.

Another though - can you not get a 5.1 PCMCIA sound card for the laptop and then just play the DVD on the laptop?