ShowMagic & Analogue Dimmers

mikeburnie

I'm just getting into lighting so my knowledge is very very poor on the subject at the moment.

In our theatre we have a ZERO88 Sirius 24 lighting desk and what looks like one Zero88 dimmer and a few Furse EDM 6103 dimmers. They are all as far as I am aware very old analogue dimmers and I believe they run from 0 to 10v signals.

I would like to make lighting simpler for newer users and have been investigating the ShowMagic product. It looks like it would do everything we need for our small amateur theatre.

The problem I have is that the ShowMagic product appears to work with DMX only. We only have the anaolgue stuff and we cannot afford to replace our equipment.

Our Zero88 Desk seems to plug into our dimmers via a 25 pin connector (looks like a computer serial connectior)

Are there any small cheap boxes that would plug into a laptop to convert the DMX from ShowMagic to normal Analogue signal ?

Are there any small cheap boxes that would plug into a laptop to convert the DMX from ShowMagic to normal Analogue signal ?

Yes, you need a 'demultiplexer' or 'demux' for short. This is a device that recieves DMX512 and turns it into a number of analog outputs. There are many to choose from, one that would work directly would the "QDeMUX" from Lightprocessor. It has the 8-pin DIN connectors that matches the ones on the Zero 88 dimmer connections.

The brand/make of the demux does not need to match that of the controller or dimmer(s) as demux are general purpose devices.

You might be able to pick one up second hand as well, try some local lighting rental companies.

Mats Karlsson

Indeed, what Mats says is exactly right. You need a demux.