Pop Idol

Beacon

Hi I'm a budding young lighting designer and I was wondering if anyone knows who has designed this year’s POP IDOL lighting and where it is filmed? I’m looking for work experience for Lighting of big TV shows and Concerts, anywhere along the Birmingham to Euston train line. This being because I am 15 almost 16 and of course can't drive. I’m not interested in pay of anything like that; I’m just looking to get experience in the October school holiday's (25th Oct - 2nd Nov). I am willing to travel by train and find a local hotel to stay in. I’m really interested in learning and expanding my experience and knowledge of Lighting.

Anyone got any help on POP IDOL or any other places they think I may find useful.

Thanks

Jay

Jay,

You could try all your local theatres, or ones near you on the train line (so Coventry, Birmingham etc) and see if they'd take you for work experience - they should do - and you'll then be able to see what goes on in fitups etc that will give you an even wider experience in what the lighting designer (and production electrician) does - i.e. CAD (Computer Aided Design), Focusing, Rigging, Problems with fitting shows into venues, Reprogramming - all stuff which is useful for LDs to know.

TV companies are a hell of alot more difficult to get into, so might not be such a good idea - but hey, if you find someone who can get you in there, then go for it!! :o

TBH, take anything you get - you will learn LOADS, even by watching, and there ain't nothing wrong with having a wide knowledge of what everyone does when your the LD.

HTH!

Stu