Your favourite colour combinations

eucalor

I've just recently started doing some volunteer lighting work, and could use some pointers. The stage I'm usually working at is about 5.5 by 5.5 meters and I typically have 20 par64 and a couple of fresnels and profiles available. The bands that play here range from heavy metal to country.

I'm beginning to get a hang of how to set the lights to get a good effect, but I'm not very good at colour combinations, especially not the variations of the different colours. Too often I find myself with R27, 195 and OW, and it gets boring after a while.

I was hoping you could help me out with your favorite combinations for a small stage. The gels I have to choose from is most of the Rosco Supergel and Eurocolour series.

(hope this is understandable, english is not my first language)

eucalor

My current favorite is to mix a lavender and a 'teal' green - somethign like #58 and #93 would work well. The good thing is that they add to produce almost white, so depending on levels, you can fade between the two. Bit more jazzy than you're probably looking for though.

Firstly your English is excellent: I had no idea it wasn't your first language till you said so.

Secondly, I would advise using the Pars as backlight in strong colours and the fresnels and profiles doing face light and specials.

On then to your question. You could use primary colours and mix them to make interesting combinations or you could go for contrasting colours which just happen to work well together. The most important thing is to pick colours which fit together for whatever reason. Personally I'd also use white in the backlight for rock bands but not for country who'd prefer softer colours.

I'm loath to suggest actual colours because if you want to learn lighting design you'll do better by trying things yourself and seeing which you prefer!

Have fun. :angry: