EQ

conan

Hey,

Just wonder if you could tell me the best way to eq a PA. I currently just playt a cd I know well and boost and cut the frequencies accordingly. Is there any more accrrate way of Doing it. What about RTA? I am currently an apprentice at a sound and lighting company working on everything from confrences and fashion shows to musicals and band gigs. I am using systems ranging from EV sx 100's to D&B Q's line array system.

Cheers

Hey,

Just wonder if you could tell me the best way to eq a PA. I currently just playt a cd I know well and boost and cut the frequencies accordingly. Is there any more accrrate way of Doing it. What about RTA? I am currently an apprentice at a sound and lighting company working on everything from confrences and fashion shows to musicals and band gigs. I am using systems ranging from EV sx 100's to D&B Q's line array system.

Cheers

At the risk of sounding glib, I think the best thing would be to ask whoever mentors you to give you a hand and walk you through some techniques. After all, a bloke (or blokette) stood next to you will be infinitely more helpful because they can hear what you hear and can explain what you're hearing to you as it happens.

People tend to use various different methds (or mixtures of methods) to EQ a system, for different things...

RTAs etc. are handy tools and certainly have their place, but they won't always be there, so don't forget about using your ears. Come to think of it, you need to use your ears even when you're using an RTA...

I'm sure those more knowledgable than me will chime in.

Dave M