Management putting the pressure on...

Dmills

Got a little 'debate' going on here!

I work in a community centre (that is building a theatre, hence why I am on board), anyway the centre is involved in some youth work and our youth worker wants to purchase on of these:

A bungee trampoline

Which I would not have a problem with, except that apparently I will be helping to set it up.

Now, I am a electrician not a rigger and while I am happy enough suspending a basic static load, I am no Peter Foy and am not at all happy about being effectively handed responsibility for what amounts IMHO to flying children (OK, so using someone else manufactured apparatus), especially as I suspect that I will also end up responsible for inspecting the bloody thing.

The problem is that I am by far the best equipped person here to do this, but fully recognise that I have nothing like the level of rigging experience to have any business setting up / operating / inspecting the systems used for flying people.

Some comments from the suggested suppliers also do not exactly inspire confidence,

apparently it only requires inspection once a year (LOLER Says six monthly in general for lifting people IIRC, and I could make a good case for more often with this sort of setup).

Also, apparently half a days training is provided together with a DVD, I wouldn't let someone suspend a bloody gauze with that level of training!

I have asked for risk assessments and a method statement (And have the requests on file), but the response has been fairly derisory and questions about suspension trauma in the event of a power supply or motor fault have been met with blank stares which does not inspire confidence!

Anything more I can do to encourage these people to either get me the appropriate training (Not easy to find, and possibly not available outside of the rigging companies in house training), or drop the idea?