Please help! DMX 5pin

SamBev

I'm not a technician, I'm a primary school teacher, and I've ended up on this forum because I'm desperately seeking some advice! We want to put on an end of year production, and as you're probably aware there isn't much in the way of spare money in school budgets, so I'm limited in what I can source. In the hall, we have some seemingly outdated lighting kit. From a normal person's point of view (as in, I don't know the terminology for anything here!) there are maybe 12 stage lights. On the wall, there is a 5 pin socket labeled 'DMX control'. I hear that many years ago, when this was installed, there was a console which attached to this socket which controlled the lighting. The old site manager got rid of it when it became glitchy and replaced it with a laptop which had software installed. That laptop is now dead and there are no wires anywhere which seem to match up to the socket. 

Am I an idiot to think that I might be able to buy a wire which links from that socket to my laptop (USB or USB C) and then find some really cheap or basic software to control it all? OR is there something that must come between the socket and my laptop? Or am I way off the mark?  If this fails miserably, I'll be buying a shed load of torches and getting Year 5 to sit in the front row 😰