basic talkback system

Tigglet

I have been looking for a way to talk to people backstage without spending a fortune. it was suggested to me last week that all I needed was 2 headsets and wire it in using the aux send and return feature on my mixing desk (LEM compact 12-8) I have several spare channels as well as aux send and ret for aux 1 and aux 2. I need help working out several things

1 what headset to go for canford do their own for £85 ea

2 what connectors to put on the headset as I will need to run them 50-100m I think I need balanced for the mic section at least

3 on the desk how do I wire it up. my channels each have balanced and unbalanced inputs the aux send and ret are 1/4 inch jacks.

I must add that I am a teacher who has been dropped with the pleasure of doing the technical side of the school theatre so I am learning on the job so to speak.

Thanks for any help or ideas.

ABT :huh:

I have been looking for a way to talk to people backstage without spending a fortune.  it was suggested to me last week that all I needed was 2 headsets and wire it in using the aux send and return feature on my mixing desk (LEM compact 12-8) I have several spare channels as well as aux send and ret for aux 1 and aux 2.  I need help working out several things

1 what headset to go for canford do their own for £85 ea

2 what connectors to put on the headset as I will need to run them 50-100m I think I need balanced for the mic section at least

3 on the desk how do I wire it up.  my channels each have balanced and unbalanced inputs the aux send and ret are 1/4 inch jacks.

I must add that I am a teacher who has been dropped with the pleasure of doing the technical side of the school theatre so I am learning on the job so to speak.

Thanks for any help or ideas.

ABT :huh:

one v cheep / simple option involves using phones,

connect in parrell 2 phones (pins 2/5 in a phonesocket) and 9v pp3