Electrical installation training costs offset on freelance event business

numberwrong

Hi guys,

Tax and expenses question (UK):

I am a freelance lighting tech/designer. In 2020 I started a 2 year electrical installation course at college (currently in my 2nd year now) with mind to shift from production/event work to electrical installation and AV installation work (for better working hours).

Can the cost of this training be offset on tax with my current sole trader event business?

I do not intend on completely stopping all event work, and I haven't as yet started doing any electrical/AV/install work.
I suppose if and when I start doing any significant installation work I would set up another company/business to run along side my event work.

Having said this, the qualifications I will get from the course (Level 2, Level 3, BS7671 etc) are not completely irreverent to the events industry. I also may have some work lined up in the Film/TV industry where proper electrical quals could arguably be deemed important.

Any thoughts on this? TIA

If you are a sole trader (SA200 tax return) AFAIK you can do whatever paid work you like as long as it is loosely covered by how you describe your business on your tax return. Training (if relevant to your work) would seem to be a legitimate business expense.

• Thanks 1

I'm not an accountant but it looks like a legitimate expense to me. Your business is allowed to evolve and transition, and this training is a valid part of that process. 

Also, HMRC are chronically understaffed at the moment, I would imagine the chances of them picking a fight over this kind of thing are quite low.