Stair Gradient Advice

nerissa

I am a set designer wanting to use an set of open stairs to reach a 2m platform. I want them to take as little space up as possible. What is an advisable gradient so that actors can still walk upright safely up & down them rather than them becoming more like a ladder? There is likely to be a hand rail on one side.

Ta for any advice given,

Nerissa.

www.ncargillthompson.co.uk

There's a formula that architects use which I can't remember off hand, but basically, it uses the height of each riser and the depth of each tread. I would imagine that ideally you want to aim for no more than 200mm high for each riser and about 300mm of depth for each tread.

The rules from the building regulations for domestic stairs are...

1. The height of any rise should be no more than 220mm

2. The going of any step should generally not less than 220mm

3. The pitch should be not more than 42 degrees (which means you cannot have both maximum going and rising). This is measured from the ground up to the stair line.

4. For any step the sum of twice its rise plus its going should not be more than 700mm nor less than 550mm

(Brian Fairchild @ 15 Jul 2003, 08:11 AM)

of course, if you need to save space you could always use alternating steps. 

Not the easiest to walk up or down though.

True. I had a lot of trouble the first time I used some. The trick was figuring out which leg to start with.

I've been stuck with this problem many times, and although building regs do offer a starter, you can with the necessary risk assessments and clearance go far steeper. I started looking at regs for ships and gantrys with limited access (i.e. not for the public), and you can then start getting far steeper.

You must remember you are entering a very vague area liability wise. I've usually completed a risk assesment, using the following main arguments as to why I deviated from building regs;

1) Access is not for the public, and numbers are strictly controlled