monitors

dfinn

Hiya,

Its coming up to my second band gig at my school, the last one was a great success and I'm really looking forward to it. However the only thing I had trouble with last time was the monitors because I had to run the lot off 1 channel.

Now I have the correct leads I can run them how they should be run which is in 2 sets of 2 (1 active linked to 1 passive). I intend to put three at the front of the stage for singer, lead guitar and bass and then one at the side of the drums for the drummer.

What I need to know is:

1) How would you pair them up? e.g. singer and lead on one and bass and drums on the other? Is this right or is there a better combination.

2) What mix would you put through either set? Do you put a small amount of everything in and then a bit more of whoevers using the monitor e.g. for the singer and leads wedges have a small mix of everything but with more lead and singer? Or do you do it another way?

I'm only a newbie trying my best so I'm sorry if these questions are a bit blatantly obvious to some.

Thanks

Daniel

If I only had 2 monitor mixes,

I'd give bass n drums one mix, and the vocals and lead the other mix.

As for what to put through them, that's upto the band members, as to what they want.

In church situations, it tends to be just vox and rythmn that is wanted, but during bigger events and festivals etc, I find drummers want themselves in their own drum fills etc.

so your trick here, is to ask the band what they want.

If the band are not happy with hearing themselves, they won't perform as well as they could, and in turn, the audience won't enjoy the gig/event as much.

Therefore, monitors are the most important thing - you serve the band first and foremost. That is what I have been told, and I think it is so so so true.

Si

Hi,

Thanks, I will most likely get our school to let me ring them up to ask for there requirements. I want to get the monitors right this time as last time they were pretty awful.