6in1 LED Diode Faults

Don Allen

I have been using 18x18W 6in1 IP65 LED Wall washers for several years now and have had to start doing repairs, as they are good value for money and worth keeping in service. The photo of a =141092302&filters[recent]=1&sort=1&o=0"]MH LED 2009K 6in1 LED Diode is taken with only the U/V channel driven at a very low level. LED1 is showing some red which should not be there and I have learnt that it is a sign of an LED that is going to eventually fail. There are two strings of nine LED's in these fixtures as they have a 32V power supply. The other LED string shows no red bleed.

Most of the faults are caused by overheating as the units are sometimes set up on 44 degrees celcius days and have to be powered up when the temperature is still in the mid 30's, as the show is due to start.

These have 6x3W LED die in them, are nominally called 18W LED's.

What experience can other repairers offer about troubleshooting 6in1 or other "x"in1 LED's please ? Am I making correct observations and assumptions on troubleshooting LED's ?

I used to have some Eaton 3W LED PAR's that had separate RGB LED's and I learnt that if one LED failed in a string, then it paid to replace all of the LED's in that string for reliability. I have been able to replace just the faulty 6in1 LED's in a string, usually only one, then it is a long time before another will fail. Hence the request for other technicians experience with LED fixture repairs thanks.

High ambient temp is unlikely to cause LED damage - more likely bad thermal coupling of the LED to the heatsink during manufacture.

Do the 2 strings have separate drivers or are they connected in parallel? If in parallel, replacing odd LEDs might cause problems, if the forward voltage of the replacement LED differs slightly then one of the strings will get a lot more drive current than the other, this will cause premature failure.