Robe 250xt resetting issue

Keith.bauer

Hi guys

I have an issue with my set up of 4no robe 250xt spots, when set up on DMX they keep resetting themselves randomly during sequences, I have them controlled with a MacBook running light key software and an open DMX interface, it seems like they could be losing the DMX signal? I’m not experienced enough yet to fault find myself, any help is very much appreciated.

Also I have noticed that one of them has a pan error but when functioning it works perfectly well, could this be the cause of the resetting?

If it's happening on all four fixtures then it sounds like you have a common power or DMX issue. These would be my first thoughts:

- Is the DMX line terminated at the final fixture in the chain?

- How long is the DMX cable run? Are you using microphone cable or proper DMX cable?

- Have you tried another DMX interface or controller to rule out the Open DMX interface?

- Are you sure you aren't sending a signal that would command the fixtures to reset? From the user manual, a value of between 128 and 139 on channel 6 is the lamp on/reset command.

Termination or use of microphone cable does not cause this type of issue. Typically random glitching of one fixture would be seen with dodgy cable.

Should be no problem having 4 on a 13a extension, they take about 500W / 2 amps each

When you say "resetting" what are they doing exactly?

The fixture has a control channel which can start a reset by DMX, are you sure you aren't hitting that as part of your sequence? (Channel 6 between 128 and 139)

Thanks for your help

Quite regularly one or all fixtures come up with “rest” or “rst” on the display and they will then go through a reset sequence. This seems to be random and only during DMX control, are you able to tell me how to stop them receiving this DMX command to reset? Do I need to do this via their onboard controls