Vari Lite series 200 control

cs75

Hi,

I'm a student on a lighting design and technology course at USW. I've recently acquired a VL2C and am keen to learn more about it with the hope of getting it functioning again one day.

I was wondering if there are any VL2 experts out there who are able to explain a bit more about how the series 200 control protocol works? The research I've done so far seems to suggest there are two control pairs, a TX and an RX pair but that's about as far as I've got.

Anyone out there who could shed some light?

Thanks very much

• 2 weeks later...
I am not a series 200 expert by any stretch of the imagination, but from what I have read your lamp power and low voltage servo motor control is all out of the fixture in your ACS racks, which is fed down to your Series 200 fixtures by a repeater. Control is non DMX. Power and data are connected by a 9 pin (I think) CPC connector. You'd probably want to look at what the DMX200 interface does and how that transcodes to DMX in a legacy series 200 system.

I am not a series 200 expert by any stretch of the imagination, but from what I have read your lamp power and low voltage servo motor control is all out of the fixture in your ACS racks, which is fed down to your Series 200 fixtures by a repeater. Control is non DMX. Power and data are connected by a 9 pin (I think) CPC connector. You'd probably want to look at what the DMX200 interface does and how that transcodes to DMX in a legacy series 200 system.

Steve:

So I need the following:

repeater

Light cable (9pin)

ACS rack

DMX protocol converter (Goes in rack?)

What items do I need to control one VL2C ligh with DMX protocolt?

Thakks Chris Cotter

yeser111@netzero.net