Sennheiser XSw12

STCM_Tech

Hi Guys

I am a school technician and as a school we have links with a nearby church, they have asked me on thoughts about radio mics as they have had lots of trouble with their existing ones getting lots of interference. They have asked my thoughts on the Sennheiser XSw12, I haven't used these and wondered if anyone had any experience. Obviously they need licenses but they know this as they are moving from open frequency mics where they have had lots of interference. Anything else in that price range thats better? We use the Sennheiser G3's and love them so I like the fact they are going with Sennheisers too but just wondering if this cheaper model are any good. Would love to know your thoughts.

ThanksWill

I haven't used the XS range so can't comment on that. However, if they do get some, get them to go for the Range E version. Remember that there is now Channel 65 and Part of 66 that are available on the shared licence. These also operate in Ch70. They can try them in channel 70, if OK great, no need for licence. If they need licence then covered by the shared licence at about £75 per year. Looking at the frequency sheet for the XS range E, any of the available frequency presets are suitable either as licence exempt ones or the PMSE Ch65 &66.

I would be inclined to suggest the church does a bit of research into what is causing the interference first.

How many sets are they using?

Are the frequencies compatible with each other (is the interference intermodulation between their own radio mics)?

Who else is using radio mics nearby?

Where are their antenna located?

Cheers,

Peter

Do you know what they have now? And what the nature of their "interference" problems are? Is it really other users on the same channels or might it be other radio problems?