Legislation A stage Manager has to think about

Hi, I am a college student who is doing an assignment on the legal aspects in the creative industry. In one part of the assignment I have to write about legislation relevant to a professional role, to which I chose Stage Manager. I was wondering if anyone had advice or documents they use personally to make sure they are following rules.

Welcome to BR, Josh but why choose such an enormous and open-ended subject? Down below there is a Community Event Guide and page 20 is given up to a list of basic laws and regulations but, as it points out, it is far from comprehensive. That list might give you a head start but I doubt it.

Every venue, every gig, every production has unique roles, responsibilities and duties for the SM.There can be no "little list" of documents as it expands continually. All one can do is train and learn continually. No two jobs are the same even in corporations that run almost identical projects because the individuals are all unique. There are no shortcuts to gaining the experience. If I gave you lists they would be enormous and still miss vital stuff out.

I think it is less about what legislation a Stage Manager needs to know about, and more that a Stage Manager needs to know when they need to consult someone who knows. It is a good idea for the SM to know the overarching OH&S legislation, working time legislation and also venue policies (which is not legislation) - but more importantly they need to know what they don't know - and where to go to get the correct advice.

Each region/locality/country/county/state/town has different rules and regulations however they all tend to revolve around a single key concept - and that is mitigating risk.

The key document is the Risk Assessment.