Anytronics/Contractor 12-24

Fiona

Anyone have any prior experience of these dimmers? Originally I was hoping for LD90's with the rcd protection ( this is part of the theatre refit that I mentioned a few months ago), unfortunately money isn't going to strech that far, so the company have suggested buying these cheaper dimmers as a good alternative.....any thoughts - praise or criticisms of them much appreciated!!

Thanks everso........ <_<

Kate,

I've no actual experience of these. However...

I do not regard Anytronics as one of the mainstream stage lighting controls manufacturers, and in my opinion it would make more sense to go for a more "industry standard" option.

Others may disagree, but how frequently are Anytronics products encountered in the real world? I have never seen them installed in a theatre and I only know of one hire company (working mainly in the corporate conference market) that has their dimmers for hire.

For only a fraction more (at list prices, £30 for the 12 way and £125 for the 24 way) you can get the Zero 88 Chilli range (Chilli 12-10i and Chilli 24-10i). You can get an RCD option as well, and that does increase the price differential a bit more.

In your position, I'd go for Zero 88 as they are a well regarded major manufacturer and a household name. I can personally vouch for the quality of their technical support. Anytronics may well be as good, but I've never dealt with them.

Comparing the two company's web sites is worth doing.

Installation companies often push particular manufacturers because they make more profit from them than the alternatives. But remember that you are the customer, a re-fit happens once in a blue moon, and you want to get it right for both now and the generations to come.

Hope this helps,

Dave.