Salaries

gareth

A thought struck me this week while leafing through the job ads in The Stage - how exactly do some southern / home counties venues expect to attract good-quality applicants to vacant posts when some of them are offering salaries which are pitifully low?

Take two jobs advertised this week as examples. Sheffield Theatres are looking for an assistant electrician - a 'bottom rung' post (although one for which, given the nature of the venue, I expect they'd be looking for someone with a bit of experience and not a complete newbie). They're offering a salary of about £17.5k plus overtime and get-outs for this - not too shabby, a few decent get-outs and tech weeks would probably push it to the right side of £20k.

On the other hand, the Stag in Sevenoaks are looking for a Head Technician. They want someone with experience across the whole range of technical theatre skills, who will have managerial responsibility for other staff members, and is expected to look after the fabric and infrastructure of the building (and act as a keyholder) as well as running the technical elements of performances. The salary on offer is £18k, and there's no mention of any overtime or other enhancements.

A very quick bit of internet research suggests that the cost of living in Sheffield is about 40% cheaper than in the Sevenoaks area. So in real terms, a technical theatre management job in Kent is paying way less than an (almost) entry-level job in South Yorkshire. How the hell do they ever manage to persuade anyone to work there on those terms?!