Looking for advice on a couple of controllers for 2 different venues

BenEdwards

Hi, as a side not I have had to register a different user here. I was using funkytwig but have repeatedly failed to recover my password;(.

Anyway looking for reconsiderations for a couple of lighting controllers. Both venues have a mixture of casual and experiences users. They are both volunteer run community arts venues (in Bristol).

PRSC

I got a scanmaster style controller here bit is is no good. What I wanted to do was use it to simply set up a static lighting set (with minimal training) but it seemed only to work with a fairly complex set of programming steps. We have an Obey 6 at The cube that works great in the bar but only controls 6 fixtures. What is great is you press the buttons for the fixtures you wish to change and use the sliders to set them up. When you press other fixture buttons it leaves the ones you have already set unchanged and you can set up the other fixture or fixtures. exactly what we want. This unit with 12 chanels would be perfect.

The Obey 40 looks exactly like the scanmaster so not sure if this works in the same way. It does have 12 fixture buttons which is what we need (we have 6 LED parcans and 4 generic tungsten). The abay 70 may be what we want but is getting a little more than we were hoping to spend. Also not sure how simple it is to use.

Any suggestions (we use MagicQ on a laptop for more complex stuff but want an easy way of setting up single static set). Would be lovely if we could set up a few sets easily (like the obay 6) and be able to fade between them easily. Simple software is an option but preferably a desk.

The Cube

Here can spend more but want a desk that is easy to use for casual users and have more complex functionality. We have 11 channels for generic fixtures and want to be able to add LEDs (possibly moving profiles). We really would be like to be able to do on the fly/busking. Again we have casual and more advanced users.