Help Needed!

Marshy

Hey! Im currently studying Stage managment at RWCMD. I currently have to write essay on how digital technology is effecting sound in theatre. I was wondering if any of u clued up guys on here would be able to answer a few question for me :angry:

1) How have you seen sound technology and equipment advance in theatre in the past 5 - 10 Years?

2) What advantages do digtal sound desks have over traditional theatre desks?

3) What disadvantages do digtal sound desks have compared traditional theatre desks?

4) As an operator/engineer, which do your use and prefer?

5) Can you see digtal technology (Digital Desks, Computer playback, etc) replacing traditional theatre equipment?

6) How can you see technology advancing in the 5 years?

Any help with this will be very much appreciated :angry: Cheers!

James Marsh

(Soz about any spelling errors)

Well, not to write your essay for you (I did MY essays more than 30 years ago!) here are some quick replies...

1) How have you seen sound technology and equipment advance in theatre in the past 5 - 10 Years?

From your later questions, you've guessed it already. Consoles are moving from analogue to digital (and even with analogue there's more automation) and playback is rapidly moving from MD/CD (or even tape) to affordable computer based solutions. The other major comment I'd make is that audience expectations have changed, with tastes moving to a much more "amplified" sound, i.e. a much heavier reliance on radio mics etc. This change is gradually filtering down from major west end shows into regional theatre and even Amdram.

Scroll down a bit. There's a whole thread on the pros and cons of digital. Basic pros:

-smaller footprint means fewer seats lost for FOH position and therefore happier producers.

-built in effects and scene recall/automation offer great flexibility

-pound for pound, digital boards offer more channels and more bells and whistles for the money.