Yellow brick road floor

Trav400

Hello!

I'm a technician in a school and we're putting on Wizard Of Oz and we want the yellow brick road coming down the stage and up the isle of the audience. I have thought about doing this with canvas and getting the students to paint the bricks. However won't this create a trip hazard? Someone has sugested lino but I don't think the site staff would be impressed with me sticking that to the new hall floor. I'm trying to keep the cost down as I've already spent alot of money building a revolving stage (very proud of that one!).

Any ideas would be amazing! :)

A few years ago my school achieved this with cardboard gaffa taped to the floor as we had virtually no budget. we got a sponge that was brick-shaped and painted the yellow bricks on. it just about lasted a week of being walked on. If the budget allows you could use some thin ply in this way

How about overhead projection (if your ceiling height will allow it)?

Yes there are several suitable gobos to do this. As a school probably does not have a bottomless pit of profiles available, It might be enough to make the complete area a deep obvious yellow using whatever lighting you have then make the part at the front of the audience have cobblestones with gobos (or use lino for that matter). But it also depends what colour the auditorium floor is! I am not convinced the cobbles have to go all the way - just the most visible part is enough as most people won't be able to see the cobbles in the aisles anyway. Just some thoughts which need to be translated into your venue.

Been there; done that; got the tee-shirt. Hardboard, painted with emulsion, shiny side up. Stick it together with good quality carpet tape.

Oh, and if you can get away with a 4' wide aisle, you end up with a pile of hardboard you can re-use next year.