Linking iMacs in Qlab

Alec97

Hi,

I'm new to Qlab and have been set a task of finding a way to use 5 apple iMacs running Qlab 1 being the master so when I hit go the 4 also respond and "go". I know they all have to be on the same local network etc. I also need the functionality to control each individual mac from the master. The idea is to run 4 macs and extend desktop then connect each one to its own screen which will then be placed on stage and the screens rigged in conjunction with the set design and then they all need to be controlled via 1 master mac in the tech box.

What I need to know is how to actually do this on Qlab ?Or another option would be to run just 1 mac with Qlab in the tech box and somehow send 4 separate desktops over cat 5 to the screens on stage, I presume this would require some sort of external graphics card ? Any ideas ?

Cheers

Alec

Hi,

I'm new to Qlab and have been set a task of finding a way to use 5 apple iMacs running Qlab 1 being the master so when I hit go the 4 also respond and "go". I know they all have to be on the same local network etc. I also need the functionality to control each individual mac from the master. The idea is to run 4 macs and extend desktop then connect each one to its own screen which will then be placed on stage and the screens rigged in conjunction with the set design and then they all need to be controlled via 1 master mac in the tech box.

What I need to know is how to actually do this on Qlab ?Or another option would be to run just 1 mac with Qlab in the tech box and somehow send 4 separate desktops over cat 5 to the screens on stage, I presume this would require some sort of external graphics card ? Any ideas ?

Cheers

Alec

Apologies for not directly answering the question, but could you expand on what you are trying to achieve? I'm sure I'm not the only one thinking there must be a more streamlined way of doing what you want!