Audience Questions

JTilling

HI Everyone

I am a relative newbie to the AV world. Although there is quite a lot I do know this is one thing I cant seem to come to any conclusion on.

I work a lot of conferences doing sound. Mostly just a couple of lapels and a couple of handhelds etc. nothing to big. Anyway the audience are often asking questions to the people who are talking. The guys up on stage can sometimes find it hard to hear them if the venue is of a larger size or if the person asking is softly spoken. I wondered if there is a way that is better than trying to get a hand held to the questioner quickly to enable the guys on stage and the rest of the audience to hear better.

This all has to be relatively cheap as it would be something not included in the quotes for the clients and also has to be something quick and painless to set up. It is usually hard to suspend anything from the ceilings as most conference venues don't have any suspension points in them.

Thanks in advance to anyone who can help me out.

Regards.

Having a couple of runners with hand held radio mics is the approach I generally use. Depending on the layout of the stage / PA, you might want to be able to route them to small on-stage monitors as well as the PA for the benefit of the presenters.

It wouldn't seem unreasonable to charge a bit more if audience interaction is expected and everyone needs to be able to hear everything.

It is always a problem, you can:

1) Ask the mic handlers to get there asap and prompt the person to use the mic (rarely happens as the mic handlers are usually just staff who happen to be free at the time)

2) Ask the Chair - if you have one - to insist on the use of handheld mics and moderate the whole session I.e people with questions can raise their hand - mic is given to that person and then the chair invites them to speak.

3) Get speaker to repeat the question (if they can hear it) for the benefit of the rest of the audience.