Looking for assistance - Wholehog/Jands

lonemorf

Hi All,

Used to be in the touring industry some 20 years ago, and things have seemingly moved on quite a way!

I am looking for some help (happy to pay for someone in london for some 1-2-1 tuition), with Jands/Wholehog desks.

Not a total beginner here, I was playing with DMX a long time back, and using the likes of masterpieces, Q12/24/48s etc, and big racks of dimmers - moving mirror and moving heads were pretty "off scope" for me back then.

I am wanting to get back into this, as I now have children in the secondary school zone, and am wanting to get involved with their productions - I have a Jands Hog 1000, and a pile of moving mirror kit that I have inherited, and I really need to get to grips with how technology has moved on.

I *think* I will pick it up fairly quickly, once I have the fundamentals, I think I can run with it. (happy to be proven wrong ;) )

Any thoughts, input? Anyone in London liking the sound of beer money?

Cheers

Quite a long way since the Jands Hog 1000. I wouldn't start with an obselete and temperamental desk whose manufacturer support is long gone. Better to get into one of the current PC control solutions of your choice. At least it is learning worth developing.

So is the Jands. It's nearly a museum piece in lighting control terms. If it continues to work and you have the fixture personalities for the kit you have (the thing that tells the desk the details of the moving mirrors), then it will control lights.

If it falls over, you will find it hard to replace in a hurry. I can see that in a 'non-critical' show situation a free piece of hardware is attractive but having used plenty of the Jands Hogs back in the day, I'd be concerned that it just wouldn't boot at some point. It is a lot less intuitive than more modern desks. Though nothing as awful as the Masterpiece.