Sunlite Suite 2

Mark-the-gib

Hi,

I am considering purchasing Sunlite Suite 2 being one of the cheapest visualizers on the market.

Seen some tutorial videos on youtube, the software seems good.

Would this be a good buy?

Any feedback would be great

Cheershttp://www.blue-room.org.uk/public/style_emoticons/default/smile.gif

Mark

The user interface of Sunlite is very unconventional, both as a normal Windows app and as lighting software. This makes the learning curve rather steep. It does work though once you get your head round it.

(For some reason this is true of all visualisers, they all seem to go for weird trendy looking user interfaces. C'mon, just stick with the normal Windows conventions!!)

That looks interesting. I have no experience of it, but if its just the visualiser part you need then really consider Capture Polar Solo. Its around £300 and is superb. It only does one universe but really I find this is enough for putting most of my movers on. Its certainly invaluable for constructing sets and lighting them, and working out placement of elements, beam angles required etc. I wish I had bought it years ago.

The UI is a bit odd, but as Tim says, they all seem to be. No big deal once you get used to it. And I have found support to be really good. There is an active forum with lots of help and you'll usually get a reply direct from Lars, one of the designers of the software.

Looking around at the moment, Martin lightjocky and wysiwyg also potential candidates...

Again Lightjockey is a controller which just does visualisation as a sideline. Capture is better at vis.

The version of Wysiwyg which enables live visualisation is extremely expensive - I think it's "Perform" which is $5749

As far as I'm aware the visualisation in LJ is just a time-limited version of Martin Show Designer.