Touch Screen Monitors

MegMegMeg

Hello guys!

I'm a first year lighting designer and just bought my first console - a titan mobile. I'm leaving for tour next week (an electronic/rock-ish instrumental band) so I'm trying to get everything I need in place before I fly out.

So my questions are:

1) Are there actual differences between touch screen monitors when used for this type of application?

2) What should I be looking for in a monitor?

3) What is a good size?

4) Lastly, I'm considering just running the TM with my laptop and just use a mouse to program/select palettes, etc. Bad idea?

Thanks!

4) Lastly, I'm considering just running the TM with my laptop and just use a mouse to program/select palettes, etc. Bad idea?

Whilst others swear by touch screens, I run my Chamsys wing like this all the time and I don't really have a problem. I find the main problem if any is reaching over the top of the desk for the built-in trackpad, so it's a lot easier with a USB (or indeed, wireless) mouse or trackpad.

I would say the best thing you can do is try a rehearsal with just your laptop and a mouse, and find out if you struggle to busk effectively without a touch screen. Just go in the studio with them and use a visualiser to get an idea of whether it works for you or not.

I picked up an ELO 1725L, 17" capacitive touch, unit on eBay for around £50 a couple of years back. If you keep your eyes open there are still ELO monitors going cheap fairly often.

The ELO screens are reliable and well weighted, so they don't wobble or fall over as you jab them. Capacitive touch seems to be more responsive than resistive, though does need fingers or a proper stylus.

17" is a nice size, making Avo and Chamsys buttons about finger sized. 15" is workable, 10 or 12 becomes stylus only, as you tend to hit too many buttons at once and the text gets very small.

You can survive with just a mouse, but a touchscreen is much quicker.