Chamsys Vs Hog 4

Richard CSL

Having originally trained and self taught on the Chamsys with a pc wing, the last 3 weeks I have had to reprogram a Roadhog 4.

I make the following observations.

The Hog 4 looks lovely the screens are less than sensitive enough, but workable, the windows style layout is superior and the moving of items around the desk is very good.

The patching of fixtures was easier than Chamsys ,

The Fan function was better in some ways in as much once selected and an alteration made, it would automatically deselect, I thought this was very good, how many times do you fan the pan , forget it is still selected then mess with the tilt by accident.

Also the undo button was very useful, not used it many times on Chamsys, so could be the same.

So that,s all the good stuff, the workflow is crazy to edit a cue. you have to create your look (same as MQ) now you have to press record, cue, number, enter, and merge on the screen. The same process with MQ is create the look, press and hold the "S" button, then press record. (making sure you are on the highlighted cue.)

So my whole job took forever, and yes I consulted the manual for a quicker workflow, even asked another lighting teck on the same project, but that is the only way to work.

Also selecting fixtures to edit on the group page is very hit and miss. if you select fixtures then record a cue the fixtures are now no longer selected and the data is semi in the programmer, ie not savable for a second cue. this was very frustrating as you had to deselect, then reselect the same heads every time,

Oh and boy did I mis the "LOCATE" button. How are you supposed to work without one.?

The effect engine was very poor as the pre made effects were all the same, there was very little in the way of encoder control, only size, rate, speed, and one other, with Chamsys you get far more and the option to start middle out for symmetry.