Rigging Training - Course Advice

Hi,

I'm after some advice on a training course which will allow me to be recognised as having some skills in rigging.

I have been working at a volunteer theatre for nearly 10 years, got taught various bits of rigging from the previous resident tech, and have picked up quite a lot when working at other venues with hire companies that explained bits and let you help out. All been good. Started doing some freelance work for small operatic societies did a bit of rigging of existing bars, erected truss (under supervision), etc.

I have been getting to the point where I have been working on my own, and whilst within my comfort zone of knowledge, this is always being pushed. I also had to turn down freelance work as I didn't have any qualifications or any proof that I was competent at rigging. I have already completed working at height, PASMA and shortly getting IPAF, so that side of things is fine.

I have seen two styles of course, and wondered what people thought of them, or if anyone had any suggestions of other things I should look at.

Option 1 is Equipment suspension, which from a quick Google is offered by Stage Electrics (http://www.stage-ele...Suspension.aspx) and the Backstage Academy (http://www.backstage...ion-and-rigging), although both are run by Eric Potter, so I am guessing are essentially the same.

Option 2 is Rigging, which from the Backstage Academy (http://www.backstage.../rigging-course), again run by Eric Potter. Similar courses available elsewhere. The rigging seems to incorporate all of the content of the equipment suspension course - in more detail and a wider breadth.

I realise that I will not cover everything in 1 or 2days, but want to be considered as competent for rigging lighting, set and pa systems, both on existing fixed lighting bars, using truss on stands and through hoists.

Any suggestions or guidance from anyone?

Cheers,