H323 video conferencing

pete10uk

Hi all

I'm completely new to video conferencing and wondered if anyone out there could shed a bit of light on the basics and point me in the direction to solve a customer request.

I'm working with a client fitting out their board room. We've installed a new projector and sound system but the client has had a request from their us office to include video conferencing functionality. They have offered to sell him a polycom system but this is big bucks and the client is reluctant to spend this amount as he feels it will only be used a handful of times a year.

The US office say any h323 system will work and the client has asked me to see if I can install him one.

I've googled h323 and understand that this is a protocol, we have a prittey desent win7 pc in the room and thought I could get a h323 client to work in a similar way to Skype. My confusion comes when trying to figure out how the connection would be made, with Skype you can search for users or type in a user to make a call but with 2 different h323 systems how do you call? Is it ip based?

What would be ideal would recommendations on some program's to use and a quick insight to the basic use of the protocol as well as recomendations on good cameras for use in aboard room or 8-10 people.

I'm thinking the camera would need a zoom and please feel free to point me in the direction of a hardware solution but please bare in mind the need to keep costs low ish, there is a budget available but it isn't £1000s

Thanks for any advice offered.

If your new to this I'd suggest keeping things simple and going for the software version of Polycom http://www.polycom.co.uk/products-services/hd-telepresence-video-conferencing/realpresence-desktop/realpresence-desktop-telepresence-m100.html#stab1 this is designed for people who need to link into existing VC systems, so it should be fairly easy to get working with your american users.