Digital Vs. Radio wireless mics

kong

I'm Looking at adding a new rack of wireless mics into the venues system and am trying to decide at this stage about whether or not to go down the digital wireless route.

My two current options for the price range would be either the Line 6XD V75 or else Sennheiser XSw 35.

The advantage with the digital being the 24bit resolution and no need for a licence but the disadvantage of potential latency issues which can also be exacerbated by using a digital console.

Any thoughts or ideas on this subject?

k

There's a long topic on the Line6 offerings HERE. There have been some issue but latency isn't one of them.

Out of curiosity, what digital consoles are you thinking of that have latency issues? All the Yammies I've used and also the Midas I have some experience on have latency of under 2ms worst case. Two milliseconds is equivalent to moving the mix position just over 2 feet farther from the FOH speakers--i.e. negligible.

There's a long topic on the Line6 offerings HERE. There have been some issue but latency isn't one of them.

Out of curiosity, what digital consoles are you thinking of that have latency issues? All the Yammies I've used and also the Midas I have some experience on have latency of under 2ms worst case. Two milliseconds is equivalent to moving the mix position just over 2 feet farther from the FOH speakers--i.e. negligible.

From reading up on the usage of Digital wireless mics it seems that adding a suggested 2ms from the mics to the already existing approx 2ms from a digital console it all starts adding up. May be being pedantic but just something thats been on my mind.