Zero88 Sirius 24/48

Gottark

I'm looking to get a cheap personal desk and came across a couple of Sirius 24 and 48's. I was wondering how easy it is to program intelligent lights. I use a Pearl Expert at work so basically is it possible to create shapes, and save colour and gobo 'patches' using the Zero 88? If so a quick example of how I could do that would be great.

I currently have 6 scanners, a couple of moving heads and a number of parcans running through a demux48.

Thanks in advance.

I am by no means an expert on this matter but the Sirius is a very old desk. The last time I saw one of these was about 15 years ago. The later versions did have DMX but this really is a generic fixture desk and not at all good for MLs. You will have to control each attribute via the faders and I would imagine run out of channels very very quickly! Really and truly this is an analogue 0-10v desk and nothing more (with a retro fit DMX controller in the later models)

I agree with pdherring! The Sirius while a great robust little desk it is really for generic fixtures

I have ran intelligent fixtures through submasters before (on an LBX) its not pretty and it requires lots of concentration

But if this is the way you want to do it! Good Luck!

I would suggest mirroring as your fixtures so as to reduce the amount of DMX channels required

If you give us an idea of the price you want to spend then we maybe able to advise better. As said above the Sirius was a great work horse back in the day but seriously outdated now. I have done MLs via subs before but on a desk that supported more than 48 channels. You really want something that has personalties for your lamps. Maybe a software based solution is the way forward, something with a playback wing maybe.