Workstation or PC?

Vin Trouble

Hi all,

Quick question - I use backing tracks with my duo/trio, usually multitrack backing tracks from Song Galaxy Karaoke Versions etc, and I quite fancy writing my own tracks for live use. I'm wondering what's best/easiest - either a PC-based setup with something like Sonar, or would buying something like a Roland Fantom or similar workstation be better? I'm a guitarist, not a keyboard player, so not keyboard savvy, although I use Roland guitar synth stuff.

Cheers.

The question is are you going to use the sounds on your guitar synth as your sounds for the backing tracks or do you need an extra bank of sounds? If the guitar synth has what you want on board then I would recommend the pc route. If you want extra sounds and an alternative input device then go for the Roland. In my experience you will still end up doing editing on the computer it is much easier than doing it on a standalone keyboard.

Hello!

How complicated were you thinking of making these tracks? Are we talking just one guitar track or multiple tracks?

Will you be using microphones or going through an audio interface?

And what sort of PC will you be loading this onto?

I don't have any experience with the Roland Fantom, however I have produced backing tracks for various things over the last couple of years. My personal point of view is that going for a keyboard workstation can limit you. Getting a decent DAW workstation and a MIDI controller can give you a lot more freedom. However, I would stress this is just my point of view, others will tell you differently!

When I first started, I used audacity which served me quite adequately, providing you weren't asking it to do anything too complicated. I then started my Music Production HNC which moved me onto logic and have been there ever since, but I still maintain that the best tracks are the simple ones.

Cheers!

JD

Thanks for the replies, guys,