Palette - Cue Stacks and Showfiles!

Munro

Evening folks, just a quick query.

I'm operating a Strand Palette VL tomorrow, with no prior experience of these consoles, I trusted the newly appointed college tech to program for the show, which I would operate. I discovered yesterday that he is a sound engineer by trade and although he understands the basics of this specific console, has little generic programming experience. (Which is evident with his "why is this light still on?" - because it's a tracking console that isn't in cue only mode!)

Cut a long story short, instead of having three cue lists in a show file (for the three different sections), I have three different show files. The trouble with this being that when changing between show files, the console blacks out, thus killing the house lights momentarily.

My question is simple, how do I go about merging the three cue stacks into one show file so I may stick the house lights on a sub and have a clear transition between pieces? I'd love to have a play and discover it myself but time is tight and it's crucial I don't break anything!

Cheers

JM

If you wiggle the sub fader between 90% and 100% you can catch it as it resets to black (as you can't save the sub being on, and the desk prioritises software values over hardware values as part of the remote/client system) that's the best solution I managed. Not pretty.

Stick the house lights on a long cable and an alpha pack?

You can import cue stacks to a show file.

Go to file, import palette show file, browse to file, select/deselect required elements.

You will probably need to rename the cue stacks.

The GO button always controls the cue stack at the top of the list, right click on the cue stack to move up/down.

Make sure to release cue stacks not in use.

HTH