light show for solo Pink Floyd tribute

thefatcyclist

Hi,

I'm new to the forum and till a week ago I knew next to nothing about lighting. I now know slightly more than next to nothing.

The project I have in mind is for my son. He is going to go out with a solo Pink Floyd tribute show.! Just him and a stack of backing tracks which we have put together ourselves etc.

We have the PA, and his own equipment, so obviously this show needs lighting. And it needs to be compact because this will definately for pubs and very small clubs.

The basic plan is to use video projection, ambient and fixed lighting, and a light show. The project is as much for me as for my son, as I am wanting to learn a new skill, and this seems a good but challenging oppurtunity.

I have many years of experience with music sequencers and therefore understand some of the terminology.

I have done a bit of lurking here and on other forums, and I am sure I will receive calls to search the forum for many more tips, I'm not new to forums (** laughs out loud **).

Anyhoo.

I need software. We want the lighting to be totally run from the computer, no tap dancing on pedals, no lighting tech. I quickly came across DMXIS/Show Buddy, to be run standalone, not from within Cubase. Picked because I can load up tracks and sequence the lights, and it has a familiar feel. I now have looked at DASLIGHT, and Light Jockey, any comments on the others?

I will need to work in previsualisation software, and can't get on with Capture, any suggestions.

The rest of my questions will come out as we go along.

Last point, is this feasible in a small space, and how to avoid cheesiness?

Ta

Can be done.

I'd start by having a look at ShowMagic (linky), as it can do all of sound playback for your backing tracks, video, and is a decent lighting control tool, and I believe it all syncronised together, but I have no practical experience of this tool.

Don't expect to pick it up in five minutes.