Accountant Lite?

Haideez

Hello Blue Room,

I was a full time AV Technician who quit late last year to become self employed and pursue contractor/freelance work. Since leaving my full time job I have done approximately 6 days work for my previous company as a self employed contractor (ie I invoice them directly and am responsible for the tax NI etc) and the rest of my work has been through a recruitment agency for which I have been paid through a contractor umbrella company. This umbrella company treats me as an employee for taxation purposes, I am paid through PAYE so tax and NI is taken out at the point of payment and also they factor in expenses for the days worked.

So given that for this financial year I've worked mostly as an employee with a handful of jobs done as self employed - is it worth using the services of an accountant to do my tax return which I am now obviously required to do given my self employed status? I have talked to other freelancers who say they spend a small fortune on their accountant but it's worth it as a good accountant can save you more money than they cost you - which I could appreciate if I had done a whole years worth of work as a contractor and invoiced my clients directly - but given my circumstances is it worth it? Or is there a service for people like myself who haven't done a full years work as self employed but could use some help filling out their tax return that doesn't cost as much as a dedicated accountant? Any help much appreciated.

In my opinion having done it both ways, it's worth paying for the accountant. It doesn't cost me a small fortune, he just charges me a pre-arranged fixed amount. We have a brief exchange of emails and he sends me the completed tax return to sign.