Beltpack to XLR?

peter

Hi

A thought just occured to me as I've been asked to DSM a show where they want cast calls and headset calls, is there a way of converting (cheaply) between Beltpack 3pin XLR output from the master station to the 3pin XLR input on the mixer feeding the dressing rooms? I have a funny feeling the answer will be 'no' but I thought I'd ask anyway - might save me having to switch between headsets and fixed mics.

Cheers

Peter

I don't think you can go via the three pin XLR, but I did once years ago make a bodge to link out of a 4 pin XLR (using a spare beltpack), you need to watch the gain on the desk and I don't know how much of a good idea it was, probably could do with a DI box somewhere, but I am not that good with sound so you might want to ignore me?

I reckon that it probably be simpler just to bung a *separate* gooseneck mic into the mixer - with a switch, too. You really don't want to send the cans feed inadvertantly to the dressing rooms (or worse, FOH). That way, you can discuss the actors and audience without fear of reprisal. I know there's a technical joy in making one piece of technology do everything, (you should see my mobile...) but in this case, it's fraught with danger...

PS: "Edit Post" is a joy - I can correct my spelling...

Guest lightnix

I'm not a noise boy either, but I asked this question once and was firmly told, "No !". The reason being that there's about 45 (?) volts on one of those pins, which would fry the input stages of the mixing channel.

You might be able to 'pad' it, but Bryson's point is also spot on. It's best to keep the crew cans separate from everyone else, so there is no danger of any embarrassing cross talk.

Hi