MiniMAC Maestro Error

f2012

Hi,

Just to start off - I'm very much a newbie as my background is broadcast and film technology so am fairly inexperienced.

I purchased my first (second hand) MiniMAC and it arrived today. It was sold by the way, as coming with a new lamp and fully functioning.

I've never owned one of these lights before so waited for the startup sequence to complete upon plugging in. An error reading 'PAE' flashes (which is apparently a pan error I read). The menu is accessible, but little happens. I've also seen no light output from the unit. It also seems fairly noisy.

Can anyone help? I can supply videos and photos if required. Unfortunately I don't have any kind of controller yet, but thought I could at least get this thing doing some auto-movements.

http://i39.tinypic.com/2mwgi05.jpg

EDIT:

I've Just re-fired it up and received the TIE error as well as a loud juddering noise

http://i42.tinypic.com/6gejcx.jpg

Ok, well firstly, the best thing you can do is throw it out and never bother with these things again, 'The Devils spawn', I call them.

On a more constructive note, if your getting the P and T error, then its worth opening it up and checking the looms. You couldnt be so unlucky to have both lots of sensors go (well....it is a mini-mac....), so its more likely a connection issue.

Thanks for your help.

It appears that many of the gobos fell out too and the unit is in a poor condition. The bulb also doesn't seem to work, and produces a tiny glint of light.

I will give it a proper strip down and see if there's anymore I can do. If not, I guess this'll be sold on as faulty. Shame the seller forgot to mention that when he stated it was fully working with a brand new bulb!