ILDA laser control

SparkyMarc

Hi, I'm just getting started with ILDA laser contol. Though I'm familiar with DMX, addressing, etc, I'm not so certain how ILDA works.

I have the Phoenix Live software/DAC which is capable of handling 8 separate lasers, so I presume there's some sort of addressing in the ILDA cable; I can see it's not daisy-chained like DMX, but with splitters like the MatILDA ones.

Also, what's the best method to get the ILDA signal from my laptop/DAC and lighting desk (forward of the audience) to the stage, and any maximum cable length.

Many thanks for bearing with me,

Marcus :)

Not an area I have huge experience in, but I know ILDA have defined a standard set of control signals which are essentially differential plus or minus 10V and which get plugged in through a 25 pin D type connector. As the signals a differential, then twisted pair cable is the best stuff to go for.

A quick google gave me pinouts and notes (PDF)

Sparkymark - sorry, but you can't address individual laser projectors via ILDA. The part that the software can address individually is the DAC - so if you want to have 8 projectors doing different things, you need 8 separate DACs.

However, if the projectors have both ILDA-in and ILDA-out sockets, they can be daisy-chained from one DAC, but they will then all have the same output. If you have an ILDA splitter, you can get the same result and don't need ILDA-out sockets on the projectors.

One way around this restriction, if you want to run 2 projectors from one DAC, is to add the facility to invert the X-axis and/or the Y-axis signal on one of the projectors, preferably remotely, as this will let you run a more varied show.

Cable length will depend on the DAC, but 25 metres is quite feasible. Computer serial cables with 25-pin connectors are the way to go.

I use 60m+ ILDA cable runs, and then daisy chained links a further 20m or so with no problems.