Help and advice needed

ddavies9

I'm a first year student currently studying Drama and Theatre studies and the University of Kent, I was wondering if anyone had any advice on what kind of lighting is best for an outside performance? We'll be using a generator, and the performance will aim to be in June, around 7:30pm. It's a performance of A Midsummer's Night's Dream, so any advice on lights that can contribute to creating an atmosphere would be most appreciated!

Thanks very much everyone.

We have done this before so use the search but to repeat what I wrote then. God, the Great LD will decide most of it for you and what I have done previously is a couple of floods on sticks turned on before "curtain" and let the superior excellence of a better LD decide when they come into play.

The brilliant aspect of this is that the time taken for the sun to dim and be replaced by the floods means the audience often don't even notice there is artificial illumination until they stand up to leave. Do take note of what Mark says about direction of the setting sun and take appropriate decisions. Watch out for buildings and trees throwing shadow.

The noise of the generator is a far bigger problem for theatre and we have recently had a thread on that as well..

Is it inappropriate to suggest that when using a generator for an outdoor performance you get in somebody who knows what they're doing.

I know this is educational and learning comes from experience but when playing with temporary power (and in the case of lighting, usually lots of it), it's usually a good plan to have somebody around who understands how this stuff work, to save you damaging stuff or hurting yourselves. They may appear to be fairly "plug and play" and if you're lucky they may indeed work in that manner, but most generators are designed for site equipment like tools, not dimmer racks.