Ideas Needed For School Show

wooders

Hi Guys! :)

My name's James and I'm a Lead technician at Churchdown School, Gloucester. Here's my dilema .. We have a show coming up at the end of March (its an anual talent show), and for the last 3 years the guy who did the Tech before me hired in a Fat Frog and 2 Robe 575AT Colourspots as effect lighting. I have SOME basic knowledge of setting up, programming etc, but cost is driving me away from using them this year :( My question to you guys is can you recommend some scanners/lasers that would create a similar effect? Also, I thought about using some Par64's on a T-Bar with split gels and have them on a chase sequence. Do you think this would look any good?

Any help/advice is appreciated,

James Woodcock

Lead Tech

Churchdown School, Glos.

What sort of effect do you want to achieve ?

There's very little point in hiring MLs just for the sake of it, particularly if you don't have the time to plot them to use them to the best effect ?

Oh and, please, avoid lasers :)

God.. Is this another joke or something? What effect? What do you expect to achieve from split gels in comparison to MLs? You can't give us parts of a story and expect us to finish it.. We don't know what your trying to do! More information needed!

To be honest, if you have little money and just want flashy flashy exciting lighting - get lots of cheap kit you can flash and chase and generally wash colour all over the place. There is nothing as boring as a couple of movers zooming about in a ballyhoo with a few gobo changes and strobing - Ok for one number but just not good value for money.Lots of cheap leds and a haze machine.

Led battens arranged in some pattern can also look very effective and contemporary. Let the show build and keep some stuff back for later.

They are much quicker and easier to program than movers!