Relay

Mat

Hi. I work in a school and we have been considering creating a sound relay from the Sixth Form Drama Studio into the Control Room for those operating to be able to hear what is going on. The building was designed as best it could be however the control room has extremely limited view into the Drama Studio and hearing what's going on in there can sometimes be an issue.

Therefore I am considering setting up a relay for future use. The Performing Arts and Media Department has a "Yoga CT-07a" boundary microphone that has been sitting in their cupboard for years (I only joined this September) and never use it. As I have very little experience with sound I was wondering if this type of microphone would be able to pickup what was being said in the Drama Studio and then relayed back into a small speaker system setup in the Control Room.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

Are you intending that this relay will simply allow dialogue to be heard in order to know when to run lighting cues (for example) or is there an intention that sound will also be operated by listening to this relay?

Simply to be able to operate lighting cues. The way the building was designed, when sitting down you can see nothing in the Drama Studio, when stood up you can see about a third. There is CCTV to be able to see the rest of the Drama Studio but the amount that you can hear from the Control Room is very slim.

You must have had a similar architect to us. Sitting behind the desk you get a lovely view of the rig and the cyc, and no view of the stage.

I've now built a very high desk and obtained 2 tall stools to get round this, and as you are doing have installed a sound relay.

A boundary mic should be fine in a small studio. It's wise to give the lx op easy access to the volume control, theyll need it to boost the quiet passages with the tricky cues and to turn off the feed on a bad day...