Allen & Heath

Boltonguy

It's only small fry I know but I currently run a behringer x1204 I to a pair or Qsc k12s (plus an rcf 905 sub for the bigger venues) I am basically a solo singer using professional backing tracks from my laptop (don't worry, they are all 320 kbps ha). Anyway someone told me that replacing the behringer with a zed10fx would dramatically increase the quality of the sound. Now as I'm only using backing tracks and a beta58 wireless mic and no live instruments. I didn't think that the sound quality would be greatly increased. Should I take this advice seriously? I sometimes think that the sound is a bit harsh with my current set up at higher volumes. Cheers guys and happy new year :-)

Has sound quality been an issue for you?

"Sound Quality" is different to "Noise". Are you hearing any hiss at all when you perform? Particularly when a channel is on and at the level you'd normally run the gain at, but without any audio actually being played? That kind of thing probably would get better with the Allen and Heath. It's just the noise of the mixer's circuitry, but if it hasn't been an issue then why change?

The environment you're in will also play a part. I run an Allen and Heath GL2400, and hiss/noise has never been an issue anywhere. Stick the thing in an anechoic chamber with some studio monitors connected to it, and you'd probably hear it!

What I'm saying is that a little bit of hiss that you can hear when you're in your living room at home, probably won't be heard in a pub, or even when the air conditioning is switched on.

So you've got to ask yourself, how bad is the problem and is it worth spending the cash you'll need to be spending to make it better (Better, not get rid of - the Allen and HEath will still have its' own noise, but I'd bet it'd be less)?