Cubase 5 + Elation DMX Operator Pro

fallofknowledge

Hi to everyone. I'm new to this subject so pls have patience. It was my understanding that there was a way to program Cubase 5 to send midi notes to my Operator Pro, triggering lights/sequences I have programmed into the Elation. We can't afford a lighting tech, so the idea is to have all our lights triggered by Cubase, in sync with the click. I'm clearly missing some piece of information (or several) because I can't get them to communicate with each other. Can someone PLEASE explain (in as much detail as you have patience for) how I program Cubase to send the appropriate signals to the DMX controller???

Well I don't know the elation, but I do know Cubase. It has many ways to send any kind of midi data you want. The external device that needs midi is the key. It will need either note on commands on a specific midi channel, or possibly programme changes or even some form of CC message (continuous controller). Once you know what it wants, you can then create an empty track, and then perhaps starting in the midi list editor, insert the various commands or notes. You can then use any of the editors to move these to the correct place in time. The list editor is useful for getting things in, and then tweaking the parameters - BUT not much use for moving things in time, apart from just roughly - but the others can be better (like the piano roll style edit window) for fine adjustment. Midi doesn't care what the data is at all - just the type, so note, pg or cc for the main. The exact process to get events in is a bit different for each version, but the list window works as a starting point for me for any control of external gadgetry.

A post on the elation forum http://forums.elationlighting.com/eve/forums/a/tpc/f/4741036491/m/5321099903

Suggests that scenes have a specific midi note for each one which will be in the manual for the product...