Moving to London

samrulesapply

I've had a quick browse around and have not found any relevant topics.. Let me know if I've been short sighted!

Heading into my eighth year as a technician I find myself on a cruise ship (Currently the newest in the world... Its still shiny!) as their Lighting and Effects technician and I'm beginning the prolonged beard-scratching that is... what next?

When I was a Landlubber I'd started getting some good work freelance on corporate events, smaller scale theater tours and the odd festival or outdoor event. I'm from Liverpool and was working in the North-West. Problem was that while the work was good it would dry up.. Sometimes for months. I'd be requested for three jobs on one date and then have an empty calendar for two months. I had little to no cash when I started freelancing back home so I ran away to sea, sun and a steady paycheck.

I'm now getting tired of 'school dinner' meals, early morning boat drills and sluggish and expensive satellite internet connection.

I'm contemplating using the money I've saved up to move to London and try freelancing again in the hope I can fill the diary a little more. I'm already on the books of a few companies in London that I've worked for a handful of times in the North West.

Am I being wise to just up-sticks and move to London without any employment in the hope I can find work?? It seems a little rash but I've got enough saved to get me through at least 2 months of complete unemployment and if I run out of cash.... The option of returning to sea is there.

Any advice, suggestion or guidance is really appreciated. Is there even any work in Big Smoke at the moment???

Thanks

Darren.

My advice is to leave the cruise company on good terms. If you leave them without burning your bridges, and they are happy with your work, there will always be the option to go back in the future if London doesn't work out for you, or you forget about the bad parts of cruise work, and miss the good bits!