Busking with a GrandMA Ultralite or Hog iPC

mark_s

I am lighting a show in a few weeks (a live event), and as my choice of desk isn't available (an Ion), I have to choose between one of those two. I hope to plot most (if not all) of the ligting beforehand, but I can foresee, due to lack of time, that at some point I will end up busking. The rig consists of some conventionals, plus a load of LED kit (Colour Force 12s, BB4 Washlights and MAC 101s). I used a Pearl 2000 for the last show, but am very reluctant to use one again as it decided to crash at the beginning of the first act, and also as the theatre stack is pretty terrible and didn't feel at all intuitive to use. I'm equally (un)familiar with both the GrandMA and the Hog 3, having never used either of them in anger before. My background is with Strand desks, so I'm very much at home with a desk with a proper command line (something else that I miss with the Pearl).

So which would your choice be, and why? Important points are ease of learning, ability to easily grab and control things live, and the ability to program in a sensible and intuitive manner. I'm not too worried about being unfamiliar with either desk as I have a whole day a few days before the show to play.

The other option is a Pearl Expert - but unless Titan has improved greatly on the theatre stack, I'm not convinced.

Suggestions or comments anyone? :)

I used to use a pearl 2000 and experienced the crashing problem, a quick call to avolites had it fixed in no time and it did a good few years service problem free before it got retired in favour of the tiger touch.

I would say the theater stack is many times better now than it was before, and if you go for the expert then try and get a touch wing to go with it as I think you'll find it very helpful.