Radio mics, which ones????

timtheenchanteruk

I work in a school, which is opening its new building in september.

I am the Performing Arts Tech, and working with the supplying company with regards to kitting out the new area, most of it is fine, but I am not familiar with the radio mics they have suggested.

Thye suggested mics are the Audio Technica 3000 series. does anyone have any experience of these? my first thoughts looking at the spec etc are, the bodypack appears to be plastic: longevity in a school?, Im also not sure on the slidy door covering the buttons, easily slid, access to control buttons, pervious experience with out senn E100s is kids like to play, even to the point of changing the frequencies during production even with the lock on. the lock unlocks if you remove and relace the batteries, no remote info feedback at all, only on the receiver.

The hand held features a 1/2 turn collar to slide the door down, how easy do these brea, I have some on some older trantec stuff, and some have broken by people trying to unscrew.

looking at the cost of the 3000 and finding comparable priced product brings me to:

Sennheiser E100:

metal body pack, buttons better hidden under flap, but still unlockable from belt pack, doesnt unlock if you remove batteries.

hand held unscrews as expected, known reliability, easy to replace with hire.

downside, antenna not easily replacable (ie not screwed in) screw jack mic connection (although I have not had any problems personally, they dont seem to stand up to use/abuse as well as HRS/XLRs etc.

Trantec S5.3

Metal body pack, only needs one battery, XLR on body pack, body pack controls lockable completly using the transmitter IR port, replacable antenna.

hand held unscrews.

remote monitoring via USB, not ideal, but means rack can be hidden a bit more, and more than others.